Poetry

Poetry is a form of literary art in which language is used for its aesthetic and evocative qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its apparent meaning. Poetry may be written independently, as discrete poems, or may occur in conjunction with other arts, as in poetic drama, hymns or lyrics.

Poetry, and discussions of it, have a long history. Early attempts to define poetry, such as Aristotle's Poetics, focused on the uses of speech in rhetoric, drama, song and comedy.[1] Later attempts concentrated on features such as repetition and rhyme, and emphasised the aesthetics which distinguish poetry
...more

Life of the Party
The Black Flamingo
The Importance of Being Wilde at Heart
The Truth Pixie Goes to School
Be Recorder: Poems
The Only Worlds We Know
If All the World and Love Were Young
Spiritual Exercises
No Matter
Knitting the Fog
Wolf Moon: Poems
So Real It Hurts
Choking Back the Devil
Give Me Back My Bones!
Take Your Pet to School Day
  • When You Ask Me Where I'm Going by Jasmin Kaur
    When You Ask Me Where I'm Going
    by
    Release date: Oct 01, 2019
    Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

    Enter for
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1647 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Aug 19 - Sep 16, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Poems Mostly of the Sea by Jenne Kaivo
    Poems Mostly of the Sea
    by
    Release date: Aug 19, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win a copy of the new collection, Poems Mostly of the Sea! These poems run the gamut from serious meditations on life and death ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 775 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 06 - Sep 19, 2019

    Countries available: U.S. and Canada

  • Arias by Sharon Olds
    Arias
    by
    Release date: Oct 15, 2019
    Enter to win one of 10 advance reader copies of Arias, the latest from Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Sharon Olds.

    Following her recent Odes, Olds gives u
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 672 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 07 - Sep 19, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Sun and Her Flowers
    Lanny
    The Mermaid's Voice Returns in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic, #3)
    Other Words for Home
    Above the Waterfall
    Great Goddesses: Life lessons from myths and monsters
    A Fortune for Your Disaster
    Lost For Words
    흰
    The End We Start From
    Life of the Party
    Split Tooth
    Literary Witches: A Celebration of Magical Women Writers
    Felicity
    Light Filters In: Poems
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsHell's Gate by Benjamin DanielsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenInsurgent by Veronica Roth
    My Favorite Books of 2012
    462 books — 501 voters
    NICU II and Victoria's Incestuous Romance by Kenneth Jarrett SingletonDreams Come True by Bridgitte LesleyMurder In Absentia by Assaph MehrSecrets of the Realm by Bev StoutCatori's Worlds by Murielle Cyr
    Self-Pub or Indie Books Worth the Read
    1,055 books — 936 voters

    Me Before You by Jojo MoyesThe Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsWinter by Marissa MeyerCinder by Marissa MeyerHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling
    What we've read so far in 2016
    8,300 books — 1,233 voters

    The Hobbit or There and Back Again by J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. TolkienHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeAnimal Farm by George Orwell
    Works of Pure Genius
    524 books — 647 voters
    Voices In My Head by Cindy J.  SmithSeptember Verses by Hunter S. JonesThey Won't Shut Up by Cindy J.  SmithExotic Neurotic by Kenneth Jarrett SingletonA Conceptual Circus by Kenneth Jarrett Singleton
    Indie Poetry
    432 books — 451 voters

    Milk and Honey
    Where the Sidewalk Ends
    Leaves of Grass
    The Princess Saves Herself in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic, #1)
    The Sun and Her Flowers
    A Light in the Attic
    Ariel
    Howl and Other Poems
    The Odyssey
    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
    Beowulf
    Paradise Lost
    Sonnets
    The Iliad
    Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair

    Related Genres

    Related News

    Every month is a good month to appreciate poetry, but in April it's an official thing. Founded in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets, Natio...
    Mary Oliver
    You do not have to be good. You do not have to walk on your knees for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting. You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves. Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine. Meanwhile the world goes on. Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain are moving across the landscapes, over the prairies and the deep trees, the mountains and the rivers. Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air, are heading home aga ...more
    Mary Oliver

    Kahlil Gibran
    Trees are poems the earth writes upon the sky, We fell them down and turn them into paper, That we may record our emptiness.
    Kahlil Gibran

    More quotes...
    The History Book Club "Interested in history - then you have found the right group". The History Book Club is the lar…more
    17,610 members, last active an hour ago
    For Love of a Book This group was created to connect lovers of stories across the internet with their characters an…more
    3,970 members, last active a moment ago
    Underground Knowledge — A discussion group This global discussion group has been designed to encourage debates about important and underrep…more
    11,995 members, last active 5 hours ago
    Discovering Russian Literature Whether you are a newbie or an expert or simply love Russian literature... Welcome! This is a f…more
    2,408 members, last active 9 days ago
    Little Angel Was My Muse
    3 chapters — updated Jun 01, 2016 04:12PM — 99 people liked it
    April is National Poetry Month
    30 chapters — updated Apr 21, 2011 09:29AM — 154 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: poetry, genre__poetry, poems, poesia, poesía, and poetry-books